Appointments, achievements

Gabriella Edelstein (Uni Newcastle) has a $46 000 fellowship to fund work in the British Museum on censorship in 16-17th century English plays. The money comes from the Uni Melbourne administered S Ernest Sprott Fellowship which funds research on English literature of that period.

The WA cancer researcher of the year is Gary Lee from UWA.

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering’s awards are announced.

Innovation: Thorsten Trupke and Robert Bardos (both USW). Solar cell manufacturing

Entrepreneur: Jane Oppenheim (Ego Pharmaceuticals). Sales growth.

Knowledge commercialisation: Anthony Weiss: (Uni Sydney). Synthetic skin for wound care.

Batterham Medal: Michael Milford (QUT). Autonomous vehicles and robotics.

ICM Agrifood Award (i): Lee Hickey (Uni Queensland). Plant breeding and genetics for cereal crops.

ICM Agrifood Award (ii): Lydia Ong (Uni Melbourne). Molecular study of dairy protein and fat.

Ezio Rizzardo Polymer Scholarship: Naomi Paxton (QUT). Biofabrication of body parts.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education