Appointments, achievements

Of the day

Karen Nelson, now PVC Students at the University of the Sunshine Coast announces she will move to the University of Southern Queensland in February, to become DVC Academic.

Andre Luiten from the University of Adelaide has received the Australian Institute of Physics medal for service to industry. Professor Luiten is director of the university’s 220 research staff institute for photonics and advanced sensing.

Sir Eric Thomas (University of Bristol VC, 2001-2015 has joined the UK advisory board of student study services provider (and CMM advertiser) Studiosity.

Eddie Woo becomes a University of Sydney education ambassador. The celebrated maths teacher (NSW Local Hero for 2018) “will, “continue to play an important role in the learning of (the university’s) graduates and Australia’s future teaching professionals.” Mr Woo will receive a paid retainer.

The ab Germinate PLUS start-up accelerator at the University of Queensland has a new entrepreneur in residence, Ran Heimann, the founder of digital business card company, Haystack.

And the week

Edith Cowan U has appointed a new head of the Western Australian Academy of Performing ArtsDavid Shirley will join from the Manchester School of Theatre at Manchester Metropolitan University in the UK.

The Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations has announced its 2019 officers. president – Natasha Abrahams, general secretary – Rachel Brisbane, policy and research advisor – Owen Myles, media officer – Zoë Tulip, women’s officer,  Romana-Rea Begicevic, international officer – Devendra Singh, disabilities officer Marguerite Biasatti,queer officer – Lauren Taylor.

University of Sydney staff has won five of the Royal Society of NSW’s awards; Elizabeth New (Edgeworth David medal for chemistry), Paul Griffiths (history and philosophy of science medal), Elizabeth Elliott(James Cook medal for science and human welfare in southern hemisphere), Robert Park(Poggendorff Lecture in plant biology-agriculture).  UniSydney’s Evelyn Todd won the RSNSW scholarship. UNSW Science Dean Emma Johnston won the sixth, the Clark Medallist, for zoology, botany, geology.

Environmental scientist, Ceridwen Fraser is leaving ANU for the University of Otago, and she is taking her research group with her. “UoO is a university with particular strengths in Antarctic, marine and evolutionary science, so is a perfect fit for our research programme,” Dr Fraser said last night.

Liz Dallimore is appointed director of the new WA Data Science Innovation Hub, based at Curtin UDr Dallimore joins from KPMG.

University of Sydney business dean Greg Whitwell is the new chair of the CEMS alliance. CEMS is an international partnership of academic and corporate institutions, which is “committed to preparing the next generation of business leaders.” UniSyd is the only Australian member.

Bronwyn Fox (Swinburne U) has won the Global Congress on Manufacturing and Management’s 2018 research leadership award.

Peter Hoj is elected a fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors. The University of Queensland vice chancellor is a biochemist and geneticist who has held US patents. He is the sixth Australian to join the academy

Andrew Leigh, who holds the ACT federal electorate of Fenner in the Labor interest, is named a research associate of the Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis at ANU. He should fit right in, he used to be an ANU professor of economics there.

Sarah O’Shea (Uni Wollongong) has a 12-month fellowship at the National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education to research post-graduation employment outcomes for first in family university completers.

International education analyst, Darragh Murray is leaving QUT for Navitas, to become manager of strategy and engagement.

Simon Bronitt will become dean of law at the University of Sydney in July. He will join from the University of Queensland, where he is deputy dean of law.

John Dornbusch has a new five-year term as chancellor of the University of Southern Queensland, through to 2024. He became chancellor in 2014.

Nathan Doyle is UniSports coach of the year. He coaches the University of the Sunshine Coast Spartan’s para swim squad.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education