Appointments, achievements

Ian Anderson (DVC Student and University Experience at ANU) will move to Uni Tasmania in January to become DVC Academic.

The US based Association for Computing Machinery (“the world’s largest computing society”) announces its 2022 honours, including, Tony  Clear (Auckland Uni Tech), Dragan Gasevic (Monash U) and Margaret Hamilton (RMIT) for “outstanding education contributions.”  Salil Kanhere (UNSW) is cited for scientific contribution.

Home Affairs Minister Clare O’Neil names Rachael Falk (Cyber Security CRC) to co-lead work on the national Cyber Security Strategy.

 La Trobe U’s many staff awards for 2022 include

* ECR: Pamali Fonseka (Ag, Biomed, Environment) * Grad supervision: Karla Helbig (Ag, Biomed, Environment) * MCR: Yuning Hong (Ag, Biomed, Environment) * Research impact: Timothy Jones and team (Humanities, Social Sciences) * Industry engagement: Helen McLachlan (Nursing) * Early career teaching: Jason Buccheri (Rural Health) Jabed Chowdhury (Computing, Eng, Maths), Hosu Ryu (Nursing) * Teaching: Richard Fernandez (Ag, Biomed Environment), Mary Grant (Allied Health) Tarryn Phillips (Humanities, Social Sciences), Jennifer Jones (Humanities, Social Sciences) * Professional staff: Marcella Bulic (Recruitment and International), Georgina Caruana (Research Office), Results enhancements team: (Brian Dunell, Debbie Hall, Prue Kasby, Megan McKenzie, Jo Sedgman, Sigalle Swieca) The full list is HERE

Perminder Sachdev (UNSW) wins the NZ $250 00 Ryman Prize (“quality of life for older people”).

The Uni SA staff awards are HERE.