Appointments, achievements

The Australian Council of Deans and Directors of Creative Arts 2023 new leadership is, * Craig Batty (Uni SA): president * Vanessa Tomlinson (Griffith U): VP * Kim Cunio (ANU): secretary * David Cross (Deakin U): treasurer

Nicole Bell (Uni Melbourne) will become president of the Australian Institute of Physics in February. Stuart Midgley (DUG Technology) becomes (VP).

John Church (UNSW) is awarded the Royal Society of NSW’s James Cook Medal (“outstanding contributions to science and human welfare in and for the Southern Hemisphere”).

John Ross (Times Higher Education) is Universities Australia’s Journalist of the Year