Appointments, achievements

The Australian Research Council announces Anika Gauja (now Uni Sydney) will start in January as ED for Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences. Christina Twomey (Monash U) also starts January, as ED, Humanities and Creative Arts.

Industry organisation AusBiotech announces its 2022 awards, including, Sue Fletcher (Murdoch U) and Steve Wilton (Murdoch U) for leadership.

The ANZ Council of Deans of Nursing and Midwifery has a new executive. * chair: Karen Strickland (Edith Cowan U) * deputy chair:  Ann Bonner (Griffith U) * treasurer: Karen-leigh Edward (Swinburne U) * New Zealand member: Philippa Seaton (Uni Otago) * Marie Gerdtz (Uni Melbourne) * Deborah Hatcher (Western Sydney U) * Brendan McCormack (Uni Sydney) * Rachael Vernon(Uni South Australia) * Moira Williamson (CQUniversity)

Stephen Garnett (Charles Darwin U) receives the special commendation for the Royal Zoological Society of New South Wales’ Whitley Medal.

Daniel Peltz is appointed Artist in Residence at Uni Sydney’s Sydney College of the Arts. He is a professor at the University of the Arts in Helsinki.