Appointments, achievements

Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology award winners include * Georgina Irish – young investigator, clinical (ANZ Data Registry) * Jennifer Li – young investigator, basic science (Westmead Institute for Medical Research * Sih Min Tan – basic science (Monash U) * Thiveya Theivendran– clinical trainee (Concord Hospital), *Anita Van Zwieten clinical science (Uni Sydney)

Rachelle Buchbinder (Monash U) receives the Royal Society of Victoria’s Medal for Excellence, for research leadership in biomedical and health sciences.

Saskia Loer Hansen will join RMIT in January as DVC International and Engagement. She was recently at Aston U in the UK, and has previously worked at RMIT.

 Virginia Lovett joins Uni Melbourne as Director, Performing Arts. She moves from Melbourne Theatre Company.

Dave Peebles becomes director of the Australia Pacific Security College at ANU. He moves from DFAT’s Office of the Pacific.

At Uni Queensland’s Institute for Molecular Bioscience Denise Doolan becomes research director. She moves from James Cook U. Waldemar Vollmer also joins, as group leader, coming from Newcastle (as in the UK) U.