Appointments, achievements

of the day

 The Australasian Research Management Society announces board appointments. Tania Bezzobs (UTS) continues as president. Yordanka Krastev, (Chrysalis Advisory) is a committee member. Kate Swanson (Uni Queensland) is secretary and Brett Szmajda, (UNSW) is a committee member.

Flora Salim (UNSW) is Chief Investigator of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making and Society.

Monty Singh will start as Victoria U’s Chief International Officer, in November. He moves from Southern Cross U.

of the week

ANU announces two new professors in the practice of politics, Natasha Stott Despoja (former senator and leader of the Australian Democrats) and former speakers of the House of Representatives, Tony Smith.

Quin Chang (La Trobe U) is re-elected chair of Knowledge Commercialisation Australasia.

Kate Gunn (Uni SA) receives Suicide Prevention Australia’s 2022 LiFE Award.

Richard Hobbs (UWA) becomes an honorary member of the British Ecological Society. Membership is the society’s top honour.

Laura Smith-Khan (Law, UTS) receives the Australian Academy of the Humanities’ Max Crawford Medal for “achievement and promise in the humanities.”

Knowledge Commercialisation Australasia’s ’22 awards include,

Monash U, Additive Assurance (3D printing) * Erin Rayment (QUT) commercialisation professional of the year  * QUT robotics for manufacturing,  * QUT Banana Biotech Programme  and * UTS sensor for point of care disease tests.

 Sharon Lewin (director of the Doherty Institute) is the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences’ Outstanding Female Researcher for 2022.

Anne-Marie Morgan joins Uni South Australia as UniSA as Dean of Programmes at Education Futures.

Forbes McGain and Jason Monty (Uni Melbourne) and collaborators win the MTP Connect Biomedical Translation Bridge Award for their isolation hood, to protect against airborne infections in hospitals.

Alexis Bergantz (RMIT) wins the NSW Premier’s Australian History prize for French Connection: Australia’s Cosmopolitan Ambitions, (published by New South). The General History prize goes to Mina Roces (UNSW) for The Filipino Migration Experience (Cornell UP).

Andrew O’Neil moves from Griffith U to Australian Catholic U to become ED of Law and Business.

Peter Khalil (Labor, Victoria) is the new chair of the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security, replacing Liberal senator for Victoria, James Paterson. Mr Khalil was appointed in October, thus missing most of the committee’s inquiry into foreign interference on campus. Andrew Wallace (Liberal, Queensland) is deputy. Senator Paterson continues a member.