Appointments achievements

Of the day

Merlin Crossley (UNSW) made the case for teaching fellowships in CMM HERE. Now UNSW announces its first visiting fellows, * Gregory Bennett (Auckland University of Technology) in Arts, Design, Architecture * Susan Giles (School of the Art Institute of Chicago) in Arts, Design and Architecture * Irina Gendelman (St Martin’s University, USA) in Arts, Design, Architect *  Siva Krishnan (Deakin University) in Engineering) *  Stephen Beck (University of Sheffield, UK) in Engineering * Kate Galloway (Griffith University) in Law and Justice * Karen Hauer (U Cal San Francisco) in Medicine and Health * Michael Todorovic, Matthew Barton (Griffith University) in Medicine and Health * Michael Cowling (CQU) in Business * Jason Lodge (Uni Queensland) in Science, and * Robert Kellner (Technische Hochschule Rosenheim, Germany) in Science.

 Of the week


Exercise and Sports Science Australia announces two new fellows, Amanda Benson (Swinburne U), and Niamh Mundell (Deakin U).

Sharyn Davies (Herb Feith Indonesian Engagement Centre at Monash U) receives an Indonesian Government award, for the “promotion of Indonesian in Victoria.”

 Adam Fennessy is the new CEO and Dean of the Australian and New Zealand School of Government. He moves from Public Service Commissioner in Victoria.

Simon Finn joins Navitas as head of government relations. He was previously CEO of Independent Higher Education Australia.

Nicolas Flament (Uni Wollongong) wins the 2022 David Syme Research Prize for the best original work in biology, physics, chemistry or geology.

Rowena Harper starts Monday as Edith Cowan U’s DVC Education. She steps up from director of the Centre for Learning and Teaching.

Iain Hay (emeritus professor Flinders U) is foundation director of the Royal Geographic Society of South Australia.

The journal Higher Education Research and Development announces its reviewers of the year, Nicole Crawford (Uni Tasmania) and Barbara Grant (Uni Auckland). It’s the second win in a row for Dr Crawford.

Lorne Neudorf becomes Deputy Dean, Law at La Trobe U – he moved from Uni Adelaide.

Claus Otto is inaugural director of Curtin U’s Institute for Energy Transition. It’s an internal appointment.

Mary Ryan (Australian Catholic U) is re-elected president of NSW Deans of Education. She is joined by Michelle Simons (Western Sydney U) as deputy-president, Sue Gregory (Uni New England) is secretary and Will Letts (Charles Sturt U) treasurer.

The ACT’s emerging scientist award for 2022 goes to ANU biologist Benjamin Schwessinger.

Craig T Simmons joins Uni Newcastle as PVC of the College of  Engineering, Science and Environment. He moves from ED for maths, physics, chemistry and earth sciences at the ARC.

Palli Thordarson (UNSW) is elected a fellow of the Royal Society of NSW.

Mark Blows joins the board of UniQuest (Uni Queensland’s commercialisation company). He is the university’s acting DVC Research and Innovation.  Julian Clark (tech transfer in biomed and health) is reappointed to UniQuest’s board.

The (numerous) Uni Wollongong Vice Chancellor Awards were reported in CMM for Monday, here.