Appointments, achievements

Craig Batty (Uni SA) is interim president of the Council of Deans and Directors of Creative Arts Australia, standing in for Cat Hope (Monash U) who is away for nine months.

Carla Drakeford moves to Swinburne U as government relations director. She makes the move from the Victorian public service.

Emily Banks (ANU) receives the Australian Medical Association Gold Medal for her, “important and timely research” into e-cigarettes.

Barney Glover (VC Western Sydney U) joins the council of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Daniel Gschwind (stet) becomes a professor of practise at Griffith U’s Institute for Tourism. He was CEO of the Queensland Tourism Industry Council up to May.

John Juriansz is confirmed as director of Western Sydney U’s Whitlam Institute. He is now the institute’s interim director

Paul Loh joins Bond U as head its Abedian School of Architecture. He moves from Uni Melbourne.

Dineli Mather has moved from Deakin  U PVC for graduate employment to Wells Advisory.

Australian Catholic U VC Zlatko Skrbis is elected president of the Strategic Alliance of Catholic Research Universities.