Appointments, achievements

Six emerging research leaders join the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences mentor programme. * James Chong, cardiologist. Westmead IMR and Uni Sydney * Tomas Kalincik, clinical outcomes research. Uni Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital * Francine Marques, genetics, genomics. Monash U * Lisa Moran, health lifestyle research. Monash U. * Suzanne Nielsen, addiction research. Monash U. * David Scott, emerging leadership fellow, Deakin U,

Jane den Hollander (former VC Deakin U, Murdoch U and UWA) becomes an honorary fellow of Cardiff University. So does former prime minister Julia Gillard. Professor den Hollander did her PhD at Cardiff U.

Brett Mitchell (Avondale U) wins the Commonwealth Health Minister’s 2022 Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research. Professor Mitchell works on healthcare-associated infection.

Science and Technology Australia announces committee appointments. STEM sector policy: Kate McGeoch (ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science), Miloš Tanurdžić (Uni Queensland) and Vanessa Wong (Monash U). Equity, diversity and inclusion: Muneera Bano (CSIRO) Kate Callaghan (CSIRO), Corey Tutt (Deadly Science) and Sumeet Walia (RMIT)

David Llewellyn is Victoria U’s inaugural chief marketing officer. He comes from the Bellweather Agency, which he founded in 2017. He joins Corrina Langelaan who started in June as media and corporate comms director, moving from Uni Melbourne.