Appointments, achievements

of the day

The Australian Historical Association announces lifetime achievement awards for Joy Damousi (Australian Catholic U), John Maynard (Uni Newcastle), Penny Russell (Uni Sydney) and Lyndall Ryan (Uni Newcastle),

Anna Goldsworthy is the new director of the Elder Conservatorium of Music at Uni Adelaide. It is an internal appointment.

of the week

 Frank Bongiorno  (ANU) is the new president of the Australian Historical Society, Michelle Arrow (Macquarie U) is VP.

The 2022 Australian Legal Research Awards include, * PhD: Lauren Butterly (UNSW & UWA)  * ECR: Jane Kotzmann (Deakin U), Rebecca Barber (University of Queensland) * general award: Ian Field (Uni Queensland) * book: Ntina Tzouvala (ANU) *non-traditional research – report: Jane WangmannTracey BoothMiranda Kaye (UTS), non-traditional research – podcast): Katherine Biber (UTS) with 12 named collaborators

Georgina Gurney (ARC Centre for Coral Reef Studies at James Cook U) is Australia’s nominee for the APEC prize for innovation  research and education (ASPIRE).

Iain Hay (Flinders U) receives the Australian Institute of Geographers 2022 Australia-International Medal (for contributions by geographers resident in/outside Australia).

Dan Hunter leaves QUT to become executive dean of the law school at King’s College London.

Danny Kingsley starts next week as Director of Library Services, University of the Sunshine Coast. She moves from Flinders U.

Michael McNally is re-elected unopposed as Queensland secretary of the National Tertiary Education Union.

Katie Makar (Uni Queensland is elected president of the Mathematics Education Research Group of Australasia. Her term starts in January.

Anne Martin becomes ANU’s inaugural Professor in the Practice of Indigenous Advancement. She continues director of the university’s Tjabal Indigenous Higher Education Centre.

Sherif Mohamed joins Uni Southern Queensland as head of the School of Surveying and Built Environment. He moved from Griffith U.

Lynette Pretorius (Monash U) has a Global Impact Grant (“to share work with demonstrable impact on staff and students”) from the UK’s Advance HE. It’s for her research on academic integrity.

Susan Scott (ANU) is elected a Fellow of the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation.

Molecular ecologist Bill Sherwin (UNSW) is awarded the Australian Museum Research Institute’s lifetime achievement award.