Appointments, achievements

of the day

Anna Grocholsky joins the Heart Research Institute next month as inaugural director of commercialisation. She moves from a similar role at Macquarie U

 Kate Harrison Brennan becomes director of the (Uni of) Sydney Policy Lab (“unique collaborations with people from different backgrounds to generate new knowledge and solutions). She moves from the Paul Ramsay Foundation.

 of the week

 The Astronomical Society of Australia 2022 awards go to * Maria Djuric (Uni Sydney)  hons/masters research * Adelle Goodwin (Curtin U) outstanding PhD thesis, (at Monash U) * Peter McGregor (CSIRO) innovation in instrumentation *Adam Stevens, post doc (UWA) * Natasha Hurley-Walker (Curtin U), mid-career.

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering has $41m from the feds for the “Elevate: Boosting women in STEM.” It announces an advisory group of “STEM champions,” including, * Marguerite Evans-Galea AM STEM Careers Strategy, (the Academy) * Shanan Gillies (Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources) * Marlene Kanga (the Academy) * Beata Khaidurova (patent attorneys FB Rice) * Scarlet Kong (DMTC, ormerly known as the Defence Materials Technology Centre) * Jan Mason (Chief Executive Women) * Morley Muse (Women in STEMM Australia) * Adi Paterson (the Academy) * Udani Reets (Women in Leadership Development) * Luke Sheehy (Australian Technology Network) * Lisa Harvey-Smith (Women in STEM Ambassador) * Frazer Thorpe (Cooperative Research Australia) * Sumeet Walia – (Science & Technology Australia) * Kylie Walker – (the Academy) * Julie Wheway (commercialisation advisor, gemaker) *Sally-Ann Williams (Cicada Innovations).

Melbourne lawyer Virginia Bourke becomes pro chancellor of Australian Catholic U next month, She replaces Julien O’Connell who steps down after seven years.

The PM announced public service leadership appointments yesterday, Michele Bruniges stays at Education while Industry, Science and Resources is tbc.

Curtin U announces new John Curtin Distinguished Professors, “the highest title the university can bestow on its academic staff,” * Christine Erbe (Science and Engineering) * Melinda Fitzgerald (Health Sciences), * Peter Gething (Health Sciences) * Abhijit Mukherjee (Science and Engineering) * Kim Scott (Humanities)

Greens senator for NSW Mehreen Faruqi keeps education in her portfolio responsibilities. Senator Faruqi is the party’s deputy leader.

Sam Van Holsbeeck (Uni Sunshine Coast) wins the Blue-Sky Young Researcher Innovation Award from the Australian Forest Products Association.

Cheryl Saunders (Uni Melbourne) receives the Taiwan based Tang Prize  for contributions to the rule of law.

Tin Fei Sim (Curtin U) becomes national president of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.

Nic Smith will be the next VC of Victoria University of Wellington. He will leave QUT, where he is provost in September.

Anne Summers is appointed a professor in the UTS business school.

Uni Sydney’s United States Studies Centre announces appointments to its board of directors, Michael Green (USSC MD) and Kirsten Andrews (the university’s Vice Principal, External Relations).

As of July, Robert Wellington will be director of ANU’s Centre for Art History and Art Theory. It’s an internal ANU appointment.

The WA Government’s Future Healthsearch and Innovation Fund announces fellowships for researchers who were near-misses for National Health and Medical Research Council funding. The NHMRC-equivalent $600 000 awards are to undertake the research winners pitched to the ARC.  The fellows are, Hannah Moore (Curtin U), Stephen Macdonald (UWA), Marc Sim (Edith Cowan U) and Anna Waterreus (UWA).

Susanne Williamson is confirmed as Monash U’s chief philanthropy officer. It’s an internal appointment.

The Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association announces its Women Committee, “to promote their greater roles in all areas.” Members include Branka Vucetic (Uni Sydney).