Appointments, achievements

of the day

Freya Campbell is ED comms at UNSW. She rejoins the university after a year at the NSW Department of Education

Women in STEMM Australia (the extra m is for medicine) announces three new board members, Hannah Brown (Victorian Heart Institute), Natalie Chapman (research commercialisation consultants, gemaker) and Sara Goldsworthy (Canva).

Tyson Yunkaporta (Deakin U, senior lecturer Indigenous Knowledges) wins the University of Notre Dame (the US one) Nasr Book Prize. It is for “scholars who reimagine the connection of religion and global affairs.

of the week

Behnam Akhavan joins Uni Newcastle to establish a plasma bio-engineering lab.

 Juliet Brown joins Uni Adelaide’s Council. She has been an external member of its risk committee since 2018. Ms Brown replaces Kathryn Presser who retires from the council.

 Tom Burton moves from PVC Global Engagement at Charles Sturt U to its ED Engagement and Enterprise

 Henry Cutler (Macquarie U) wins the inaugural fellowship from the Deeble Institute for Health Policy Research.

Glyn Davis (former VC Uni Melbourne and Griffith U) is appointed permanent head of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, effective Monday. He moves from the Paul Ramsay Foundation, (“break cycles of disadvantage in Australia by investing in partnerships”).

Deakin U announces ten Alfred Deakin Professors, its highest academic honour, * Catherine Bennett (Epidemiology) * Felice Jacka (Health) * Rachel Huxley (Health) * Liz Johnson (DVC A) * Emma Kowal (Arts and Education) * Sarah McNaughton (Exercise and Nutrition) * Kon Mouzakis (Artificial Intel Inst)* Alex Newman (Management) * Anna Peeters (Health Transformation) * Andrea Witcomb (Arts and Education)

Jane Edwards becomes dean of Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Education at Uni New England. She was appointed interim dean last year.

Darren Goodsir joins Uni Sydney as chief of staff to VC Mark Scott. His substantive predecessor was Kirsten Andrews who moved up to VP External Relations. Mr Goodsir worked with Professor Scott at the NSW Department of Education and a ways back at the Sydney Morning Herald.

Dame Jane Harding and her neo-natal glucose studies team at Uni Auckland wins the Prime Minister’s Science Prize

Michelle Lam joins MTPConnect (the medtech and pharma growth centres) in Melbourne, to be medtech clinical trials and commercialisation manager.

Sally McArthur becomes director of Deakin U’s Institute for Frontier Materials. She joins from Swinburne U.

Gaven Morris (ex ABC News director) becomes an industry professor at Western Sydney U.

Anne Orford (Uni Melbourne) and Rain Liivoja (correct) (Uni Queensland) are DFAT’s visiting fellows for 2022-23.

Sathana Dushyanthen (Uni Melbourne) and David Kok (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Uni Melbourne) win a gold medal at the 2022 Telly Awards (“TV and video across all screens”) for Dr Kok’s video-lecture on stereotactic radiotherapy (for cancer).