Appointments, achievements

Of the day

Bernice Redley, now Deakin University Monash Health Partnership starts in June as Health Complaints Commissioner in Victoria.

Ganna Pogrebna joins Charles Sturt U as inaugural academic director of the Cybersecurity and Data Science Institute. She moves from Uni Sydney

Of the week

The 2022 Australian Academy of Science Fellows were in CMM yesterday, HERE.

The Australian Critical Trials Alliance awards include, * Trial of the year: Lisa Higgins (Australian & New Zealand Intensive Care Society) and Monash U School of Public Health and Preventative Medicine * Excellence in trial statistics: Andrew Forbes (Monash U) and Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists * Consumer involvement: Anna Singleton (Uni Sydney) * Industry partnership:  Kim Bennell (Uni Melbourne Centre for Health, Exercise and Sports Medicine) and Medibank

 AusCert (cyber emergency responses) 2022 awards include, * individual: Marcus Mroczkowski, (Federation U) * individual excellence: Greg Sawyer (Council of Australian University Directors of Information Technology).

Tania Bezzobs will become UTS research director in August. She will move from ED, research at Swinburne U.

Leigh Carriage (Southern Cross U) wins the Humanitarian category at the Australian Women in Music Awards.

Laura Chahda (Uni Melbourne) wins the 2021 best paper award from the International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology.

Paul Duldig (COO, ANU) is moving to become chief executive of Victoria’s state library. Prior to ANU he was at the University of Melbourne, where he led university services 2014-18.

Phil McManus (Uni Sydney) is elected VP of the International Geographical Union.

Ann Sherry is appointed chancellor of QUT. The businesswoman is a graduate of the university. Her five year term starts mid-August.

Natalie Taylor is appointed research director for UNSW’s School of Population Health.

Uni Melbourne’s Arts Faculty announces the 2022 Ernest Scott Prize winners, Janet McCalman (Uni Melbourne) for Vandemonians: the Repressed History of Colonial Victorians (Miegunyah Press) and Lucy Mackintosh (Tāmaki Paenga Hira/Auckland War Memorial Museum) for Shifting Grounds: Deep Histories of Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland (Bridget Williams Books).

Geoff Webb (Monash U) wins the distinguished research contribution award at the Pacific-Asia Conference on knowledge discovery and data mining.