Appointments, achievements

Of the day

The International Society for Experimental Hematology’s McCulloch and Till award for emerging/mid-career scientists goes to Louise Purton (Saint Vincent’s IMR).

The National Health and Medical Research Council announces its 2021 awards. * Louise Bauer (Uni Sydney): leadership * Nigel Beebe (Uni Queensland): innovation award * Clare Collins (Uni Newcastle): leadership * Dale Godfrey (Uni Melbourne): leadership * Simon Graham (Uni Melbourne): emerging leadership  * Trevor Leong (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre): clinical trials and cohort studies award * Melissa Little (Murdoch Children’s RI) ideas grant award * Brett Mitchell (Uni Newcastle): emerging leadership * Susan Ramus (UNSW): leadership * Julie Redfern (Uni Sydney): leadership * Andrew Roberts (the IMR formally known as Walter and Eliza Hall): synergy grant award * Hyon-Xhi Tan (Uni Melbourne): emerging leadership * Ouli Xie (Uni Melbourne): postgraduate award

Open Access Australasia has a new executive committee: Kim Tairi (Auckland Uni Tech) is chair and members are, * Fiona Bradley (UNSW) * Dimity Flanagan (Uni Melbourne) * Danny Kingsley (Flinders U) * Michelle Blake (Uni Waikato) * Claire Thorpe (Southern Cross U)

Victoria U deputy chancellor, Kate Roffey is named CEO of Victoria’s State Sports Centres Trust.

Of the week

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering announces its second group of “catalysts” in its Industry Mentoring Network in STEM, * Malene Ahern (Macquarie U) * Ngozi Chidi-Egboka (UNSW) * Beatrice Chiew (Uni Newcastle) * Amal Mohamed Dameer (medical practitioner) * Marissa Duong (UWA) * Alejandra Fernandez (QUT) * Josephine Ataa Hinneh (Uni Adelaide) * Adam Johnston (Macquarie U) * Lauren Jones (Flinders U) * Tian Nie (Uni Melbourne) * Arianna Oddo (consultant) * Winter Okoth (Griffith U) * Mateus Oliveira Silva (CSIRO) * Françios Olivier (Monash U) * Mohammad Zaidur Rahman Sabuj (QUT) *Janice Vaz (Western Sydney U)

Graham Brown starts next month as Charles Sturt U’s DVC A. He moves from PVC A at UWA.  Sue Carthew has been Interim DVC A since January.

Dragan Gašević (Monash U) is made a lifetime member by the Society for Learning Analytics Research, for “significant and sustained contribution” to the field.

The six PhD students or post docs  who will attend the 2022 Lindau Nobel laureates meeting are * Amandeep Kaur (Uni Sydney) * Neil Robinson (UWA) * Sanjana Prasad (RMIT) * Piyush Sharda (ANU) * Matthias Wurdack (ANU) and Diana Zhang (UNSW).

Judith McNamara is the new law school dean at Uni Adelaide. She leaves QUT.

Helen Milroy (UWA) wins Momentum for Australia’s 20-22 Most Inspiring Woman of the Year award.

Cheryl Praeger (UWA emeritus) and Jeremy Brownlie (Griffith U) are new members of the Commonwealth’s National Science and Technology Council.

Jason Roberts (appointments include Uni Queensland) receives the Fred J Boyd Award, from the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, for the “unparalleled impact” of his support.

John Romalis moves to Macquarie U as head of economics. He comes from Uni Sydney.

Jacqui True (Monash U) receives the Northcutt Award from the International Studies Association’s Women’s Caucus.

UWA reports election  by its convocation (graduates, academics and interested other). Warren Kerr is the member of Senate. Jenny Gregory is warden. Warren Kerr is the member of Senate. David Griffiths is deputy warden.

Mike Wilson starts next week as Interim DVC R at Uni New England. He was previously at Charles Darwin U,  joining in 2020 as provost.

Stephen Wong becomes the inaugural head of the Cancer Genomics Translational Research Centre at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. His is an internal appointment,

Bob Wood, joins Macquarie U Business School next month to lead a JV with the Commonwealth Bank – a four year longitudinal study of young adults’ financial decision making.  He moves from UTS.