Appointments, achievements

Australian Institute of Physics awards go to, * Walter Boas Medal (research), Howard Wiseman-Griffith U * Bragg Medal (PhD thesis), Timothy Gray-ANU * Laby Medal (masters/hons thesis)-Ethan Payne (Monash U) * Outstanding service, Bruce McKellar (Uni Melbourne), Marc Duldig (Uni Tas).  Katarina Miljkovic (Curtin U) is the 2022 women in physics lecturer.

The Australian Pancreatic Cancer Foundation announces $500 000 total grants to research teams led by Claudine Bonder (SA Pathology and Uni SA’s Centre for Cancer Biology), Marco Falasca Curtin U), Chamini Perera (UNSW), John Rasko (Uni Sydney) and Anubhav Mittal (Uni Sydney)

Natalie Ellisdon is confirmed as La Trobe U’s Chief Marketing Officer. She has been acting since last March. Prior to that she was RMIT marketing director.

As of April Vicki Flood will lead Uni Sydney’s Northern Rivers Rural Clinical School, replacing Ross Bailie who moves to research. Professor Flood is an internal appointment.

IDP announces Matt Toohey is its new Chief Information Officer. He joins from all digital ME Bank. Jeremy Mocek becomes head of technology and innovation for the company’s International English Language Testing System business. His is an internal appointment.

The Royal Australasian College of Physicians presents its Susman Prize (internal medicine) to Flavia Cicuttini and Stephen Nicholls (both Monash U).