Appointments, achievements

Of the day

The Australian Information Security Association’s 2021 Fellows include, * Bill Caelli (QUT) * Paul Haskell-Dowland (Edith Cowan U) * Dan Maslin (Monash U) *Nigel Phair (UNSW) and * Matthew Warren, (RMIT)

Doron Ben-Meir will join Monash U on Monday as DVC Enterprise and Engagement. The tech entrepreneur was inaugural VP Enterprise at Uni Melbourne.

Sean Brawley joins Uni Wollongong as PVC Strategy and Planning. He moves from Macquarie U. Louise Hickman also moves to UoW, from UTS.  She becomes PVC Health, charged with growing two health focused outer Sydney campuses.

Of the week

 The panel “supporting the selection of the Commonwealth’s “trailblazer” research and industry hubs is, Janean Richards, Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources, Paul Wellings (former VC Uni Wollongong), Andrew Stevens, (Industry Innovation and Science Australia), Judi Zielke, COO, CSIRO (EOI stage), Dom English, (DESE).

Iain Hay (emeritus professor, Flinders U) is named a Fellow of the American Association of Geographers.

Doune Macdonald will act as DVC A at Uni Queensland, from April, replacing Joanne Wright (scroll down).

Soil Science Australia 2021 awards go to, publication medal: Thi Bao Anh Nguyen (Uni Melbourne), PhD thesis: Chelsea Janke (Uni Queensland), Prescott award (outstanding contribution): Brajesh Singh (Western Sydney U), Teakle award (awareness of social science): Silvana Santomartino (PSK Environmental), Life membership: Cameron Grant (Uni Adelaide)

Uni SA announces nine “creative industries” appointments.  * Michael Bentham, from Uni Melbourne, in screen production * Erik Champion, from Curtin U, in architecture * Aaron Davis, previously a Uni SA casual, in architecture * Kath Dooley, from Curtin U, in screen production * Chrisanthi Giotis from UTS, in journalism* Guy Keulemans, from UNSW, in industrial design * Kim Munro, from RMIT, in digital media * Fanke Peng, from Uni Canberra, in industrial design * Rongrong Yu: in architecture from Griffith U *

Swinburne U announces Tara Magdalinski is confirmed as PVC Education and Quality. Andrew Kong becomes PVC and CEO VET. He joins from Victoria U. Philip Roe is now chief information officer and Nigel Waugh chief people officer.

At Uni Sydney Joanne Wright will become DVC E, moving from Uni Queensland. Ian Young leaves to become dean of biological and environmental science and engineering at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in Saudi Arabia.

Appointments and achievements over the summer were in CMM on Monday,here.