Appointments, achievements

Andrew Gunstone (Swinburne U) becomes board co-chair of Reconciliation Victoria.

Geoff Gourley (Impact Investment Fund) becomes chair of Swinburne U’s Innovation Precinct Advisory Board.

La Trobe U announces its research award winners, * Grad research supervision: Nora Shields (Physiotherapy) * Research engagement: Wei Xiang (AI) * Research impact: Adam Bourne, Gene Lim, Anthony Lyons, Andrea Waling (Understanding LGBTIQ+ project) * Early career: Ashleigh Poh (cancer research), Sunil Rao (Law) * Mid-career: Adam Culvenor (Sport and Exercise Medicine) Gerald Roche (Politics and Philosophy)

Uni Sydney announces the 22 Sydney Research Accelerator fellows for the year. SOAR pays early and mid-career researchers $100 000 over two years, plus $25 000 to fund teaching/admin relief. Those who will SOAR are here.

Mathai Varghese (Uni Adelaide) is awarded the George Szekeres Medal by the Australian Mathematical Society.