Appointments, achievements

The NSW Premier’s Science and Engineering Prizes are announced, including. Richard Bryant (UNSW) – innovation. Louise Causer (UNSW) and Rona Chandrawati (UNSW) – early career researchers. Gregory Dore (UNSW) – medical biological sciences. Peter Steinberg (UNSW) – biological sciences. Shujun Zhang (Uni Wollongong) wins the Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry, Physics category.

Stephan Tillmann (pure maths, Uni Sydney) receives the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation, for research time at a German institution.

The University of Newcastle announces the (numerous) winners of its staff awardshere.