Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia announce the 2021 Paul Bourke early career research awards, * Michele Barnes-sociology (James Cook U) * Tim Neal (UNSW) * Laura Rademaker-history (ANU) * Nathan Carauna– cognitive science (Macquarie U).

UNSW wins the 2021 best career service award from the Australian Association of Graduate Employers.

The Viertel Foundation awards $1.25m over five years to each of three researchers working in cardiovascular disease and links to gut health, dementia diagnosis and regenerative therapies. * Francine Marques (Monash U) * James Shine (Uni Sydney) and Mikaël Martino (Monash U).

Of the week

Anna-Maria Arabia (Australian Academy of Science) becomes a Knight of the Order of the Star of Italy. The award coincides with Ms Arabia’s reappointment as chief executive of the Academy for a further five years.

The Australasian Council on Open, Distance and eLearning executive yesterday is, * Michael Sankey-president (Charles Darwin U) * Steve Leichtweis-VP (Uni Auckland) * Colin Lowe-treasurer (Uni Sydney). Executive members, * Kate Ames (CQU), * Travis Cox (Uni Adelaide) * Ratna Selvaratnam (ECU) * Lynnae Venaruzzo (Western Sydney U).

Australian Collaborative Education Network reports its new board. Bonnie Dean (Uni Wollongong), Michelle Eady (Uni Wollongong), Susan Rowland (Uni Queensland), Jennifer Rowley (Uni Sydney), Leoni Russell (RMIT). Sharon Scott (Uni Adelaide) and Franziska Trede (UTS) are members.

The Australian Council of Graduate Research has new leadership. Imelda Whelehan (UWA) is in-coming president. New executive committee members are Clive Baldock (Western Sydney U), Susan Kinnear (CQU) and Justin Zobel (Uni Melbourne) for two years and Wendy Wright, (Federation U) for one. Anne-Marie Hede (Victoria U) and Simon Moss (Charles Darwin U) continue on the executive.

The NSW branch of the Australian Institute of Physics announces its 2021 awards, including, * community outreach: Andrea Morello (UNSW) * postgraduates: Joe Zhiyu Chen (UNSW) Zain Mehdi (ANU)

Ian Hickie (Uni Sydney) and writer/podcaster Honor Eastly are joint winners of UNSW’s Australian Mental Health Prize.

Uni Canberra announces Tania Broadley will become PVC E in February. She will move from RMIT, where she is Associate DVC Learning and Teaching.

Career Development Association of Australia 2021 awards include, Queensland: Michael Healy (Career Ahead) and SA: University of Adelaide Careers Service

Edith Cowan U’s 2021 staff excellence awards include, * research: Michelle Colgrave (Science) * research engagement: Clint Bracknell (Kurongkurl Katitjin Centre for Indigenous Australian Education) * learning and teaching: Christa Norris (Education) * Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Advancement: Kurongkurl Katitjin Student Success Team * Health and safety: Kitiya Dufall (Medical and Health Sciences)

Tim Gardner becomes chair of TasTAFE at month end. Mr Gardner is executive chairman of transport infrastructure company, Stornoway.

Flinders U archaeologist Ian Moffat is awarded the Royal Society of South Australia’s Andrewartha Medal for early career research.

Martin Nakata is appointed DVC Indigenous Education and Strategy at James Cook U. He steps up from PVC, leading the Indigenous Education and Research Centre.In-coming RMIT chancellor (January) Peggy O’Neal is the City of Melbourne’s Melbournian of the Year.

Siok Tey (QIMR Berghofer MRI) and Penyi Yang (Uni Sydney) win the Metcalf Prizes from the National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia.

Philanthropy Australia’s Gender-wise Award goes to the Trawalla FoundationWomen’s Leadership Institute Australia and the University of Melbourne’s Pathways to Politics Programme for Women

 Veena Sahajwalla (UNSW’s Centre for Sustainable Materials Research and Technology) is the NSW 2022 Australian of the Year.

Damon Salesa will become VC of Auckland University of Technology in March. He is now PVC Pacific, at Uni Auckland.

Universities Australia announces its journalism awards – to Conor Duffy (ABC) and a team from The Conversation website.

Sotiris Vardoulakis (ANU) leads the 30-institution Healthy Environments and Lives Network, funded via the NHMRC.

Alex Zelinsky has a second term as VC of Uni Newcastle, through to 2026. He was appointed in 2018.