Appointments, achievements

UniSA DVC R Tanya Monro will have a STEM building named for her today, at Adelaide’s Parkside Primary. Year six and seven students decided the physicist was the right role model for science at the school.

UNSW emeritus professor of psychiatry, Gavin Andrews, “among the world’s most highly cited scientists in this field,  is one of two 2018 winners of the Australian Mental Health Prize.  He is joined by Adelaide consumer advocate Janne McMahon. The award was established in 2016 by the UNSW School of Psychiatry.

Andrew Johnson is moving to the University of New England as director of Research Services. He was previously with the Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine.

The University of South Australia has won six of the ten SA Women in Innovation Awards.

Anika Johnston took out the arts category for her work at the university’s MOD museum, “provoking new ideas at the intersection of art, science and innovation.”

Structural engineering professor Yan Zhuge received the engineering award.

Tina Dhu (information studies) won the maths and data category

Chia-Chi Chien, from the universities Future Industries Institute received the award for science.

Fiona Arney and Leah Bromfield – co-directors at UniSA’s Australian Centre for Child Protection, took the social impact category

Renly Lim won the open section for a project in Cambodia using art, music and theatre to educate communities about malaria.

The other winners were; Allison Nikula – emerging innovator (CareApp). Bernadette Eckermann –government category (SA Water). Michele Lally – rural and regional (Australian Micro Abattoirs). Mary-Louise Rogers – technology (Flinders U).

In addition to the VC’s medal of excellence (above) Australian Catholic University’s 2018 excellence award winners are:

Mission Excellence: Clothing Drive Team, Stephanie McCormick and Brian Seeto and

Treasury Team: for the “world’s first sustainability bond from a university,” Mitch Srbinovski, Rajan Wijey, Katie Kung, Anuschka Shaheen, Paul Zappia, Alex Graham

Service Excellence:  IT Service Portal Team, Robin Shi, Suraj Thapa, Tony Manglaviti, Louren David, Traci Voss and Alternate entry team, Jason Bax and Daphnee Devlin

Student Experience: Thomas More Law School Mooting Program, Brianna Chesser

Community Engagement: Chaldean Community English Language Program, Svetlana Lukovic and Libby Rainsford and Solomon Islands Community Engagement Team, Renata Cinelli and Mellita Jones


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education