Appointments, achievements

Of the day

Tim Costello (clergyman and community leader) becomes chair of the community advisory council for Monash U – Peninsula.

RMIT undergrad Aaron Nguyen is the Australian entrant in this year’s James Dyson Award. He has created an ankle-foot mobility aid for children are sensory-impaired in legs and feet.

 The Royal Australian Chemical Institute announces its 2021 awards, including. * Leighton Medal (development chemistry): Michelle Coote (ANU) * Weickhardt Medal (economic advancement): Anthony Weiss (Uni Sydney) * Rennie Medal (research): Markus Müellner (Uni Sydney) * Fensham Medal (teaching) Gwen Lawrie (Uni Queensland) * Cornforth Medal (thesis) Pei Lay Yap (Uni Adelaide)

Of the week

The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia 2021 Fellows are in CMM November 9,  here.

 The Australasian Research Management Society announces its 2021 awards, * Gayle Morris (Australian Institute of Business) – distinguished service * Lisa van den Berg (QUT) – research management * Daniel Barr (RMIT) – research management

The Australasian Research Management Society announces office holders, * Tania Bezzobs, president (Swinburne U) * Susan Rose, treasurer (Deakin U) * Lesley Ashton, secretary (QuoVadis Consulting)

Winners of the Australian Business Deans Council awards include, * Kym Davis (James Cook U) professional management * Andrea Haefner (Griffith U) international education * Alexander Newman (Deakin U): research * James Wakefield (UTS): teaching and learning

The Autism Cooperative Research Centre research awards go to, * Sandra Jones (Australian Catholic U) – research into practice. * Trevor Clark (Autism Spectrum Australia) * Samuel Arnold and Julianne Higgins (both UNSW) – inclusive research practice.

Hilary Charlesworth (ANU) is elected a judge of the International Court of Justice.

The Council of Australian Law Deans selects Ian Malkin (Uni Melbourne) for its outstanding career achievement award.

Chris Fleming becomes Griffith U Business School research dean. He replaces Andrew O’Neil, now acting dean of the university’s Graduate Research School.

Tracy Harris joins Swinburne College as GM and dean. She was previously at RMIT.

Richard Hu (Uni Canberra) wins the ACT award for planning excellence for tech and digital innovation from the Planning Institute of Australia.

 The Hunter Medical Research Institute announces its researchers of the year * research excellence: Michael Breakspear * early career: Nicole Nathan * mid-career: Vanessa McDonald.

The Legal Education Associate Deans Network announces 2021 awards. * Teaching: Kerstin Braun and Noeleen McNamara (Uni Southern Queensland) * Early career teaching: Aidan Ricciardo (UWA) * Sessional teaching: Alexander Chan (Uni Adelaide) * Teaching engagement: Linda Steele (UTS) * Research supervision: Paul Babie (Uni Adelaide),

 James Cook U remote pharmacy academic Selina Taylor is the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s Queensland pharmacist of the year.

International education researcher Ly Tran (Deakin U) receives a Melbourne Asia Game Changer Award from Asia Society Australia.

The University of Adelaide’s staff achievement awards are in CMM for November 10 here.

The Associations Forum inducts Troy Williams (Independent Tertiary Education Council Australia) into its Hall of Fame.