Appointments, achievements

Universities Australia announces Jenny Clark will be comms director. Ms Adcock will join from the Business Council of Australia. Previous roles include advising PM Malcolm Turnbull and Treasurer Joe Hockey.

Nadia Davidson will lead a bioinformatics research group at the MRI formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. She will move from the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Peter Ebeling (Monash U) becomes president-elect of the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research.

Carole Propper becomes an adjunct professor in Monash U’s Centre for Health Economics. She is a past president of the (UK) Royal Economic Society.

Mary Ryan is incoming executive dean, Arts and Education at Australian Catholic U. She moves from Macquarie U.

The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency has a fourth commissioner, with the appointment of veteran higher education finance analyst Stephen Somogyi. He joins Chief Commissioner Peter Coaldrake, Joan Cooper and the recently appointed Adrienne Nieuwenhuis (CMM October 5).