Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Jeffrey Braithwaite (Macquarie U) wins the Sidney Sax Medal from the Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association. The award is for his, “outstanding contributions to the development and improvement of Australia’s healthcare system.”

Mark Evans joins Charles Sturt U as DVC R. He moves from Democracy 2025, a JV of the University of Canberra and the Museum of Australian Democracy.

At Federation U, Wendy Cross will become DVC A in December. She moves up from dean, School of Health. Janette Wright joins as university librarian, moving from United Arab Emirates U.

In January Deborah Walker starts as People and Culture Director at Uni Sunshine Coast, she moves from Federation U.

 Of the week

Dylan Ashton (Uni Sydney) wins Cooperative Research Australia’s ECR award for using kangaroo tendon for human knee ligament grafts. Mr Ashton is at the Innovative Manufacturing Cooperative Research Centre. (CRA is the renamed Cooperative Research Centres Association).

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences 2021 fellows were in CMM Wednesday,here.

 The Australian Research Council announces its 2021 advisory council Calum Drummond, (RMIT), Mark Hutchinson (Uni Adelaide), Su McCluskey, (Commission for International Agricultural Research), Mark McKenzie (Council of Small Business Organisations Australia), Chris Moran (Curtin U) Michelle Simmons (UNSW), Deborah Terry (Uni Queensland) Maggie Walte (Yoo-rrook Justice Commission).  This is a second term for Professor Terry and Mr McKenzie, who have stayed on “to provide continuity.”

The Australian Research Council’s Indigenous Discovery Grants were in CMM yesterday,here.

Jo Barraket will be director of Uni Melbourne’s Melbourne Social Equity Institute. Professor Barraket will join from Swinburne U in January.

Fiona Brooks has started at Auckland U of Tech as PVC and Dean of Health and Environmental Sciences. She was previously Assistant DVC R at UTS.

CMO Magazine announces its top 25 marketers of the year, including: Carolyn Bendall, (Swinburne U) at 19, and Chaminda Ranasinghh (RMIT) at 21.

At Deakin U the VC’s award for team teaching goes to the Psychology Honours Team, Nicolas BennettJaclyn BroadbentChristian HydeNicolas Kambouropoulos, Jarrad LumNicholas RyanElizabeth Westrupp.

Lucy Franzmann joins Victoria U as CFO. She moves from the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre.

Helen Marshall is the 2022 South Australian of the Year. Professor Marshall is a vaccine scientist at Uni Adelaide.

At Monash U Nellie Georgiou-Karistianis becomes PVC (Research Training) at Monash U. She moves up from Deputy Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences.   And Jacek Jasieniak is the new PVC Research Infrastructure – he is now Associate Dean (Research) in Engineering.

The 2021-24 membership of the National Health and Medical Research Council is announced. Caroline Horner is reappointed to the council and becomes the new chair Members are: * Emily Banks * Ainslie Cahill * Ian Frazer (reappointed)* Bronwyn Le Grice * Jane Gunn * Elizabeth Hartland * Yyonne Cadet-James * Richard Murray * Carolyn Sue  * Nicholas Talley * Debra Thoms * Alison Venn (reappointed)  * Steve Wesselingh (reappointed) and * Ingrid Winship (reappointed). State and Commonwealth chief medical officers are ex officio members.

Craig Neal (UNSW) is a runner-up in the International Air Transport Association thesis competition for his masters dissertation on demand for cargo airships in Australia. The other runner up is Tereza Bartlová (Brno (Czech Republic) UT) for a study of uncrewed VTOL vehicles. The winner is Martina Brysch (Uni Groningen) for a thesis on air cargo in the “physical internet.”

Stuart Parsons is moving from QUT to Uni Sunshine Coast to be dean of Science, Technology and Engineering. He starts there in January.

Peter Scott will move from PVC E at UTS to president of Athabasca U, (“Canada’s on-line university”), in Alberta.

Jacqui True (Monash U) is a 2021 Fellow of the Australian Institute of International Affairs

At UWA, Tim Colmer moves from DVC R to interim Senior DVC – he replaces Simon Biggs who is moving to James Cook U as VC.  Anna Nowack takes Colmer’s old job, for the first six months of 2022. There is no word as yet on who will act in her position, PVC Health and Medical Research.