Appointments, achievements

At Deakin U the VC’s award for team teaching goes to the Psychology Honours Team, Nicolas Bennett, Jaclyn Broadbent, Christian Hyde, Nicolas Kambouropoulos, Jarrad Lum, Nicholas Ryan, Elizabeth Westrupp.

At Monash U Nellie Georgiou-Karistianis becomes PVC (Research Training) at Monash U. She moves up from Deputy Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences.   And Jacek Jasieniak is the new PVC Research Infrastructure – he is now Associate Dean (Research) in Engineering.

The 2021-24 membership of the National Health and Medical Research Council is announced. Caroline Horner is reappointed to the council and becomes the new chair Members are: * Emily Banks * Ainslie Cahill * Ian Frazer (reappointed)* Bronwyn Le Grice * Jane Gunn * Elizabeth Hartland * Yyonne Cadet-James * Richard Murray * Carolyn Sue  * Nicholas Talley * Debra Thoms * Alison Venn (reappointed)  * Steve Wesselingh (reappointed) and * Ingrid Winship (reappointed). State and Commonwealth chief medical officers are ex officio members.

Craig Neal (UNSW) is a runner-up in the International Air Transport Association thesis competition for his masters dissertation on demand for cargo airships in Australia. The other runner up is Tereza Bartlová (Brno (Czech Republic) UT) for a study of uncrewed VTOL vehicles. The winner is Martina Brysch (Uni Groningen) for a thesis on air cargo in the “physical internet.”

Stuart Parsons is moving from QUT to Uni Sunshine Coast to be dean of Science, Technology and Engineering. He starts there in January.

At UWA Tim Colmer moves from DVC R to interim Senior DVC – he replaces Simon Biggs who is moving to James Cook U as VC.  Anna Nowack takes Colmer’s old job, for the first six months of 2022. There is no word as yet on who will act in her position, PVC Health and Medical Research.