Appointments, achievements

Of the day

Kerryn Baker (ANU) wins the Australian Political Studies Association’s Carole Pateman Book Prize. Dr Baker wins for Pacific women in politics: gender quota campaigns in the Pacific islands (University of Hawaii Press).

 Sue Bennett is confirmed as executive dean of the Faculty of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities at Uni Wollongong. She has acted since May.

 Ian Goodwin-Smith joins Flinders U as professor of soclal impact. He moves from Uni SA.

Ariadne Vromen is president-elect of the Australian Political Studies Association.

Of the week

 The Australian Society of Plant Scientists announces its 2021 awards. Joanna Melonek (UWA) – early career researcher.  Kim L Johnson (La Trobe U) – mid-career woman researcher. Xiaoyang Wei (Uni Newcastle) – early career researcher, travel. Ximeng Li (Western Sydney U) – best paper.

Jonathan Churchill starts at ANU as Chief Information Officer. He moved from James Cook U.

Danya Field is Griffith U’s new general counsel. She moved from legal and risk head at Virgin Australia

 Jane den Hollander (former VC of Deakin U and UWA) joins the board of WA Primary Health Alliance.

Livia Hool will lead WA’s first heart research centre, a partnership of Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute, UWA and Wesfarmers.

Sarah McNaughton (Deakin U) chairs the National Health and Medical Research Council’s new dietary guidelines expert committee

 Lidia Morawska is one of Time Magazine’s 100 most influential people of 2021. Professor Morawaska (QUT) is an air quality researcher who recognised airborne transmission of COVID-19 was the key in-door transmission issue.

Brent Ritchie starts today as dean of Uni Queensland’s Business School. He moves up from associate dean R in the university’s Faculty of Business, Economics and Law. He has the job for two years with the university announcing it will go to external recruitment “at an appropriate time” to either confirm Professor Richie or identify a new head of school.

 James Roffee starts at Federation U as Brisbane campus head. He was Global Education dean at Swinburne U.

Mike Ryan is confirmed as PVC R at Monash U. He has acted in the role since June.

Finalists for SA Scientist of the Year are Timothy Hughes (SA Health and MRI), Helen Marshall (Uni Adelaide) and Shizhang Qiao (Uni Adelaide).

At Federation UGabriele Suder is now Dean of the New Business Accelerator. She moved from RMIT.

Angus Taylor (Lib, NSW) is the acting minister for Industry, Science and Technology following Christian Porter’s resignation, yesterday. Mr Taylor’s substantive portfolio is Energy and Emissions Reduction.