Appointments, achievements

of the day

 Olivia Humphrey becomes an adjunct professor at Curtin U. She will “contribute” to learning and research and represent the university’s “entrepreneurship activities.” Ms Humphrey is founder of Kanopy, a video streaming service for public libraries and universities.

WA 2021 Young Tall Poppies of science for 2021 include, Eleanor Sansom (Curtin U), Mark Hackett (Curtin U) and Billy Sung (Curtin U).

of the week

 Johan Arberg becomes director of Study Canberra. He moves from ANU.  

Uni Wollongong VC Patricia Davidson receives an Advance Award, which “recognise and celebrate the work of global Australians and alumni of Australian universities.” Professor Davidson is a former dean of nursing at Johns Hopkins U.

Bonnie Dean is the new head of academic development at Uni Wollongong’s Learning, Teaching and Development Centre.

Lorraine Finlay (Murdoch U) is appointed commissioner at the Commonwealth’s Human Rights Commission.

Flinders U announces Bill Damachis as director, International Partnerships, he moves from Swinburne and Simon Brennan as director, Research Development and Support, he joins from Uni Adelaide.

At Uni Melbourne Damian Glass steps up to A/D Strategic Communications.

Grace Karskens (UNSW) wins the NSW Premier’s Australian History Prize for People of the River: Lost worlds of early Australia (Allen and Unwin). Professor Karksens is also joint winner of this year’s Ernest Scott Prize (CMM May 21).from Uni Adelaide.

Uni SA’s Australian Centre for Child Protection wins the research award at the SA Child Protection Awards.

 Uni Southern Queensland announces Tony Dreise will be inaugural PVC, First Nations Education and Research, starting month end. He will join from ANU. As of October 4, Shawn Walker (now Charles Sturt U) will become PVC Engagement 

2021 Young Tall Poppies of science are announced

for South Australia  Linda Armbrecht (Uni Adelaide). Eddie Banks (Flinders U). Yee Lian Chew (Flinders U). Ashley Hopkins (Flinders U). Brenton Hordacre (Uni SA). Alice Jones (Uni Adelaide). Vitomir Kovanovic (Uni SA). Dominic McAfee (Uni Adelaide). Catia Malvaso (Uni Adelaide). Hannah Wardill (Uni Adelaide).

for Tasmania Vanessa Adams (U Tas). Carlie Cullen (U Tas)

Victoria’s include Rebecca Allen (Swinburne U), Linden Ashcroft (Uni Melbourne), Jeremy Barr (Monash U), Victoria Blair (Monash U) Kylie Hesketh (Deakin U) Rachel Hill (Monash U), Florian Mueller (Monash U), Adrienne O’Neil (Deakin U), Freya Shearer (Uni Melbourne), Sarah Stephenson (Murdoch Children’s RI), Jane Tiller (Monash U), James Trauer (Monash U) Fabien Vincent (Monash U),