Appointments, achievements

Peter Gunning (UNSW) is awarded the president’s medal of the Australian and New Zealand Society for Cell and Developmental Biology.

 Susan Howitt is appointed director of the Australian Council of Deans of Science Teaching and Learning Centre. She moves from the Research School of Biology at ANU.

ANU’s Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions announces two appointments. Frank Jotzo (ANU’s Crawford School of Public Policy) becomes head of energy. Roslyn Prinsley (now head of strategic research initiatives at the university) takes charge of disaster solutions.