Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 At Uni Melbourne, Mei Dong (Economics) wins the Edward Brown award teaching. The award is for staff in architecture, engineering, economics, commerce and business.

The Young Tall Poppy Awards (for Queensland scientists) are out – QUT space scientist David Flannery, is top YTP. Others honoured include Lauren Ball, (primary health care, Griffith U), Fabio Costa (quantum physics Uni Queensland), Laura Diamond (biomedical engineering, Griffith U), Yaqoot Fatima (sleep health, James Cook U), Adam Frew (ecology, Uni Southern Queensland), Aideen McInerney-Leo (genetic counselling, Uni Queensland), Hayley Letson (heart, trauma, sepsis, James Cook U), Divya Mehta (genetics, QUT),Amanda Rebar (health behaviours, CQU) Adam Taylor (immunology, Griffith U), Soniyah Yamben (QUT)

Uni Queensland staffers were quick to advise that Jessica von Pein (Uni Queensland, Institute of Molecular Bioscience) did not win UofQ’s Three Minute Thesis competition (CMM yesterday). She won a heat.

Of the week

 Australian Catholic U announces Queensland judge Martin Daubney will become chancellor in January. Melbourne lawyer Virginia Bourke will become pro-chancellor in July next year.

The Australian Council for Education Leaders in NSW 2021 awards include* Paul Brock Award (for a significant contribution to education): Patrick Duignan, (ACU), Pasi Sahlberg (UNSW) * Research Award: Rachel Wilson (Uni Sydney) * Scott Eacott (UNSW).

Kingsley Dixon (Curtin U) is the new chair of the board of the Society for Ecological Restoration.

 Thom van Dooren (Uni Sydney) wins the Ludwig Fleck Prize for a book on science and technology studies for The Wake of Crows: Living and Dying in Shared Worlds (Columbia UP).

Andrew Fraser becomes deputy chancellor of Griffith U. “Many Queenslanders know him from various roles in state government,” GU tweets, without mentioning the roles included treasurer and deputy premier in state Labor governments.

Gail Garvey joins Uni Queensland as professor of Indigenous Health Research. She moves from the Menzies School of Health Research.

Kathomi Gatwiri (Southern Cross U) is in-coming president of the Australian Women and Gender Studies Association.

The Genetics Society of AustralAsia 2021 awards were in CMM, Tuesday.

Griffith U’s (numerous) teaching awards were in CMM yesterday.

The International Gynecologic Cancer Society includes Australian based researchers in its new honours. * Lifetime achievement: Michael Quinn (retired) * Teaching: Andreas Obermair (Uni Queensland).

Leslie Loble will join UTS as an Industry Professor with a brief to research EdTech. Professor Loble is a former NSW education official. She was a member of the panel that recently reviewed the Australian Qualifications Framework.

Uni Melbourne appoints Anne Orford a laureate professor. Not to be confused with her appointment as Australian Research Council Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Professor (2015-16).

 Laura Rademaker (ANU) wins the Northern Territory Chief Minister’s history award as co-author of The Bible in Buffalo Country (ANU Press)

Edward Palmisano joins the United States Studies Centre at Uni Sydney as COO. He was last at the university in 2014-15 as director of government relations.

The Picchi Awards for cancer research were in CMM, Tuesday.

The Queensland Government’s 2021 women in STEM awards were in CMM Monday.

Human Rights Commissioner Ed Santow will join UTS in September, as Industry Professor-Responsible Technology. He will lead a UTS initiative on AI.

Mark Scott starts as Uni Sydney VC this week. He moves from department secretary at the NSW Department of Education.