Appointments, achievements

Australian Catholic U announces Queensland judge Martin Daubney will become chancellor in January. Melbourne lawyer Virginia Bourke will become pro-chancellor in July next year.

 The Australian Council for Education Leaders in NSW 2021 awards include. * Paul Brock Award (for a significant contribution to education): Patrick Duignan, (ACU), Pasi Sahlberg (UNSW) * Research Award: Rachel Wilson (Uni Sydney) * Scott Eacott (UNSW).

 Thom van Dooren (Uni Sydney) wins the Ludwig Fleck Prize for a book on science and technology studies for The Wake of Crows: Living and Dying in Shared Worlds (Columbia UP).

 The Genetics Society of AustralAsia announces its 2021 awards. * Medal for excellence in research: Kathy Belov (Uni Sydney) * Mid-career researcher: Camilla Whittington (Uni Sydney) *Early-career researcher: Seth Cheetham (Uni Queensland) * Best PhD: Emily Roycroft (Uni Melbourne, now ANU) * Educator: Phillip Wilcox (Uni Otago) * PhD travel award: Stephanie Chen (UNSW) *

The International Gynecologic Cancer Society includes Australian based researchers in its new honours. * Lifetime achievement: Michael Quinn (retired) * Teaching: Andreas Obermair (Uni Queensland)

The Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre and MRI allies, with the Picchi Brothers Foundation announce the Picchi Awards for cancer research. * Basic Science: Kenji Mark Fujihara (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre) * Population Health: Martin Vu (Uni Melbourne) * Clinical Science: Stacie Shiqi Wang (the MRI formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall).