Appointments, achievements

Jenny Beresford (numerous roles including at Swinburne U) is the new CEO of the Council of Australasian University Directors of IT.

 Guy Curtis (UWA) is one of the Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australia’s 2020 reviewers of the year. A typo in Friday’s issue turned him into Guy Curtin

Natasha Harvey becomes director of the Centre for Cancer Biology at Uni SA. She steps up from a lab head role.

Uni Wollongong announces the VC’s staff awards including,

VC’s Outstanding contribution to teaching and learning: Helen Rienits (Science, Medicine and Health)

Programme award for teaching and learning: Master of Educational Leadership Team, Kylie Lipscombe, Paul Kidson, Sharon Tindall-Ford (all Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities)

Professional services award for teaching and learning: Faissel Tubbal (Engineering and Info Sciences)

Researcher of the year: Jun Chen (AIIM Research Facility)

Emerging researcher: Yunxiao Wang (AIIM Research Facility)

Interdisciplinary research: Project Openability (Karen Walton, Science, Medicine and Health), Alison Bell (Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities), Alaster Yoxall (Sheffield Hallam U)

Research Partnership and Impact: Project SMART Recovery: Peter Kelly, Alison Beck  Elizabeth Dale, Briony Larance, Dayle Raftery (all Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities) Kathleen Clapham, (Business and Law), Rowena Ivers, (Science, Medicine and Health), Frank Deane (Illawarra Institute for Mental Health), Industry Partners: SMART Recovery Australia and SMART Recovery International

Research supervision: Kristine French (Science, Medicine, Health)

Research supervision for emerging researchers: Thomas Birtchnell (Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities)