Appointments, achievements

Historian André Brett (Uni Wollongong) wins the Australian Academy of HumanitiesMax Crawford Medal for outstanding achievement by an early career scholar.  

Ian Harper (Uni Melbourne) is reappointed a part-time member of the Reserve Bank board.

The Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australia announces 2020 awards, including

Heroes of HE: Jane Coffey (Curtin U), Sarah Hattam (Uni SA), Michael Mehmet (Uni Wollongong) Olivia Rajit (UTS), Cate Thomas (Charles Sturt U)

Reviewers of the year: Nicole Crawford (Curtin U), Guy Curtis (UWA), Emily Danvers ( Uni Sussex)

Best article: Kerry Renwick, Mark Selkrig, Catherine Manathunga & Ron ‘Kim’ Keamy for “Community engagement is … : revisiting Boyer’s model of scholarship”, which appeared in Higher Education Research & Development, 39:6, 1232-1246.

Riitta Partanen is confirmed as head of Uni Queensland’s Rural Clinical School. She has been interim head since April 2020.