Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 CSIRO’s Marine Data Analytics Team wins the Blue Marine Foundation’s 2021 Innovation Award for its low-cost tracking system which can detect “dark” fishing vessels at sea.

Michelle Eady (Uni Wollongong) is appointed Asia-Pacific VP of the International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

 Jolanda Jetten (Uni Qeensland, School of Psychology) is appointed a foreign member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Bronwyn Myers is inaugural director of Curtin U’s enAble Institute (physical and mental health and “challenges of ageing.”  She moves from the South African Medical Research Council.

Of the week

David ‘Tarnda’ Copley becomes Indigenous Academic Advisor at La Trobe U’s Rural Health School. He joins from Flinders U,

Andrew Garnett (Uni Queensland) wine the inaugural Industry Legacy Award at the Surat Basin Energy Awards.

Karyn Kent (Study Adelaide) is appointed to a new Commonwealth-appointed panel to advise on recovery in the visitor economy.

Peter Liesch (Uni Queensland) is inducted as a fellow of the Academy of International Business

Andy Marks is the new CEO of the NUW Alliance (unis of Newcastle, New South Wales, Wollongong and Western Sydney U). He keeps his existing roles at Western Sydney U (Assistant VC and Director of the Centre for Western Sydney).

At Monash U Andrew MacIntyre becomes PVC and President (Indonesia). He joined M U from RMIT in 2019. The university has a long-term investment in Indonesia, expecting to start enrolling PG students at its local campus in October (CMM April 6).

Sam Robertson (Victoria U) is announced as a member of the AFL’s new Game Analysis Committee which will consider game data, “for the future of the competition.” Professor Robertson leads VU’s sports performance and business programme.

 Across the ditch, the Royal Society Te Apārangi has inducted its new fellows.  Honorary Fellows are, Penelope Brothers (ANU) and Ravendra Naidu (Uni Newcastle).

The NSW Government appoints Roberta Ryan (Uni Newcastle, professor of local government) Independent Community Commissioner, “to help address the concerns of landowners in the Western Sydney Aerotropolis.” (It’s where the new airport will be).