Appointments, achievements

Of the day

Rachel Huang is Uni Queensland’s new Chief Student Entrepreneur. She takes over from Rachael Dagge.

The Australian Council of Graduate Research announces its awards, * Leadership – Jeanette Fyffe (La Trobe U) * Supervision – Kay Crossley (La Trobe U) * Industry Engagement –Dugald Close “and team” (Uni Tas).

CSL reports four $500 000 Research Acceleration Initiatives awards, “to fast-track the discovery of innovative biotherapies to address unmet patient needs.” * Livia Hool (UWA) – drug to treat inherited heart disorder, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, * Mark Coulthard and Trent Woodruff (Uni Queensland) – a “therapeutic candidate” for recovery/survival in “solid organ transplant” * Michelle Wykes (QIMR Berghofer MRI) –an “immunological target” to treat rare autoimmune diseases * Christian Engwerda, (QIMR Berghofer MRI) 0 –also an “immunological target” but to “improve stem cell transplantation”

Of the week

 Reem Joukhadar wins a 2021 Women in Triticum (which is wheat) award. She is a research scientist at the Victorian state government and La Trobe U JV, AgriBio.

Sharon Lewin (Doherty Institute) is appointed president of the scientific advisory board of the new French research agency on emerging infectious diseases.  

The US National Academy of Science announces new members, including; Elizabeth Dennis (CSIRO), Lisa Kewley (ANU)

National Computational Infrastructure announces the 2021 Australasian Leadership Computing Grants go to, Ben Corry (ANU), Alan E Mark (Uni Queensland), Bernhard Müller (Monash University), Ekaterina Pas (Monash University), and Julio Soria, (Monash University).

The United States Studies Centre at Uni Sydney announces Mick Mulvaney is a new non-resident senior fellow. Mr Mulvaney was President Trump’s chief of staff (2019-20) and director of the Office of Management and Budget. He is joined by Duncan Lewis, formerly Director General of Security at ASIOJennifer Jackett, on leave from the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet joins as a non-resident fellow.

At UWA Lesley Cala (Med School professor) is warden of convocation, Brett Davies (Law School adjunct professor) is elected to Senate and deputy warden). Convocation is graduates and sundry senior members of the university community.

 The US National Academy of Science announces new members, including; Elizabeth Dennis (CSIRO), Lisa Kewley (ANU)


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education