Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Stephen Foster becomes dean of engineering at UNSW. He has acted in the position since January 2020

Grant King is the new chair of the Commonwealth’s Climate Change Authority. He continues to chair its Australian Technology Investment Roadmap (a strategy to accelerate development and commercialisation of low emissions technologies).

Former Commonwealth education department secretary Lisa Paul will chair the federal government’s previously announced review of initial teacher education, (CMM March 12). She is joined by Malcolm Elliott, (Australian Primary Principals Association), Derek Scott – (2019 Australian School Principal of the Year) and Bill Louden education emeritus professor UWA)

Helen Sullivan becomes dean of ANU’s College of Asia and the Pacific. She moves from director of the university’s Crawford School of Public Policy.

Of the week

 Denis Altman (La Trobe U emeritus) receives the eminent scholar award from the LGBTQA caucus of the International Studies Association.

Julia Gillard commences as chair of UK health and medical research foundation, Wellcome.

Kerri-Lee Krause has started at Avondale UC as provost. She moves there from Uni Melbourne where she was DVC Student Life.

James McCarthy joins the medical research organisation formally known as the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. His lab team will work on malaria.

Deakin U VC Iain Martin is the new chair of the Australian Technology Network (Deakin UUTSRMITUni SA and Curtin U). He replaces UTS VC Attila Brungs, whose two-year

 Michael Sankey is moving to Charles Darwin U, to join new VC Scott Bowman as Director of Learning Futures and Lead Education Architect. Professor Sankey leaves Griffith U, where he is Director, Learning Transformation.

New Austrade CEO Xavier Simonet is in-place. His appointment was announced in November. Tim Beresford has acted since Stephanie Fahey left (CMM June 15 2020).