Appointments, achievements

The Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology announces its 2021 awards. In addition to Merlin Crossley (scroll-up) Erinna Lee (La Trobe U and Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Centre) receive the Shimadzu Research Medal. Awards go to, Lahhiru Gangoda (the research organisation formally known as the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute), Lois Balmer (Edith Cowan U) and Anton Calabrese (University of Leeds).

Sammy Bedoui (Un Melbourne) is appointed research director for its School of Biomedical Sciences.

 Melinta Grant (UTS) receives a 2021Dunlop Fellowship, from the AsiaLink Leaders Programme, “given annually to Australians committed to making a lasting contribution to Australia-Asia relations.” The other fellowship goes to Melissa DeLaney, CEO of ANAT (art+science+technology).

Griffith U reports Niru Nirthanan (Deputy Head of School, Health Group) is a fellow of the American Society for Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics.

Microbiologist Siouxsie Wiles is New Zealander of the Year for her science communication of COVID-19. Dr Wiles is a microbiologist at Uni Auckland.