Appointments, achievements

As of February Cheryl Jones will be deputy executive dean (academic) in the University of Sydney’s Faculty of Medicine and Health. She joins from the University of Melbourne. She was deputy dean of the Sydney Medical School from 2012 to March last year.

ANU economist Geoffrey Brennan has won the Gutenburg Teaching Award for 2018. The economist who now “identifies as a philosophy, politics, economics” person is honoured for “the development of attractive study programs transcending disciplinary boundaries and for his long-standing dedication to the formation of students and junior researchers.” The award comes from the Johannes Gutenburg University in Mainz, Germany. It includes a Euro 10 000 prize and an invitation to deliver a lecture there.

Health Minister Greg Hunt has announced new council members of government advisory body Cancer Australia. Joanne Aitken, (QUT and Menzies Health Institute, Qld) is the incoming distinguished scientist member.

The International Water Association’s bi-annual award goes to Tony Wong, “for his lifetime research on water sensitive urban design.” Professor Wong, from Monash U is CEO of the Cooperative Research Centre for Water Sensitive Cities.

Annie Hunter wins the Australian Catholic University’s 2018 poetry prize. Ms Hunter’s entry was selected from 540 entries. Ms Hunter, from Castlemain Vic, describes herself as an “arthritic gardener and part-time poet.”


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education