Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Béatrice Bijon and Martin Thomas (both ANU) are appointed co-directors of the Menzies Australia Institute at Kings College London

 The Forrest Research Foundation announces PhD research scholarships for; Thalles Araujo (oceanography) and Matthew Heydenrych (using DNA biomarkers with wild species) at UWA. Nish Tyagi is funded to develop rehabilitation after spinal cord injuries, at Edith Cowan U. At Curtin U, Liyuwork Mitiku Dana will work on food insecurity and Tyrone O’Doherty will study black holes in the Milky Way.

Jamie Craig and Owen Siggs (both Flinders U) win the 2012 Epstein Award from the (US) Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.  They will use the US $100 00 prize for their basic genetic test for glaucoma.

Chris Tisdell (UNSW) becomes VP, Education at the Australian Mathematical Society.

Of the week

Kylie Boltin is the Uni Queensland Library 2021 creative writing fellow.

Nina Fotinatos is now dean for learning and teaching at Federation U.

The Journal of Proteome Research (proteins in an organism – CMM looked it up) announces its take on the field’s rising stars.  Among the 40 are, Nicola Gray (Murdoch U), Benjamin Parker (Uni Melbourne), Nichollas Scott (Uni Melbourne) and Luke Whiley (Murdoch U).

Amala Groom and Sidney McMahon are the inaugural UTS artists in residence.

MS Research Australia announces 2021 grants to, * Jacqueline Orian (La Trobe U) * Jonathon Baell (Monash U) * Brad Sutherland (Uni Tas) * Mastura Monif (La Trobe U) * Yvonne Learmonth (Murdoch U) * Phu Hoang (Neuroscience Research Aus) * Anne Bruestle (ANU) * Lucinda Black (Curtin U) * Anthony Don (Uni Sydney) * Charles Malpas (Uni Melbourne) * Vivienne Guan (Uni Wollongong) * Claudia Marck (Uni Melbourne) * Lisa Grech (Monash U) * Malini Visweswaran (St Vincent’s Centre of Applied MR, (NSW) ), Rodney Scott (Uni Newcastle) * Ali Afrasiabi (Uni Sydney) * Marzena Pedrini (Murdoch U) * Kalina Makowiecki (Menzies Institute for MR (Tas) * Anneke Van Der Walt (Monash U) * Laurence Macia (Uni Sydney)

Melissa Roughley moves from UNSW to be director of student administration services at Uni Sydney.

Kelly Smith is appointed PVC International at Murdoch U, “after an internal recruitment process.” He has acted in the role since last April.