Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 The Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society announces its 2020 awards. Uwe Radok award for best PhD, Alessandro Silvano (U Tas). Morton Medal for leadership, Matthew England (UNSW). Meyers Medal for early career researcher, Acacia Pepler (Bureau of Meteorology). Gibbs Medal for operational forecasting, Philip King (Bureau of Meteorology). Outreach Award, Linden Ashcroft (Uni Melbourne).

Ben Boyd (Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences) has $10m over seven years from the Novo Nordisk Foundation in Denmark, where he will spend 10 months a year. His research includes the function in the human gut of nanoparticle in food, medicine and milk.

Flinders U announces the VC Awards for early career researchers; * Hailay Abrha Gesesew * Jacqueline Stephens * Alexander Sweetman * Emmanuelle Souzeau * Emer Van Ryswyk (all Medicine and Public Health) * Rachel Milte and Claire Baldwin (both Nursing and Health Sciences) * Thomas Vincent * Jennifer Young * Kasturi Vimalanathan (all Science and Engineering)

Of the week

The Association for Tertiary Education Management 2020 awards were in Tuesday’s issue, here

Winners of Australian Defence Industry Awards for 2020 include; * Excellence award and Academic of year: both to John Close, ANU – quantum physics, * Innovator of year: Francis Bennet, ANU – optical physicist.  * Academic institution: Australian Maritime College (U Tas). Training/mentor programme: ASC Shipbuilding and Flinders U

The Curtin Academy (“reward, enable and extend excellence in teaching at the university”) announces new fellows, Natalie Gasson (Psychology) Michelle Kelly, (Nursing, Midwifery, and Paramedicine), Ben Milbourn (School of Occupational Therapy, Social Work and Speech Pathology), Le Ng (Physiotherapy and Exercise Science).

Susan Dodds (La Trobe U) will be the 2021-22 chair of Unis Australia’s DVC Rs committee.

Engagement Australia’s Excellence Awards were in Wednesday’s issue, here.

Noel Hayman (Uni Queensland) wins the AMA Queensland 2020 gold medal for “improving the health and well-being of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.” Alan Bruce Chater (Uni Queensland) wins the medal for rural and remote medicine.

Natascha Klocker (Uni Wollongong) wins the 2020 fellowship award from the Geographical Society of NSW.

 The Law Associate Deans Research Network announce their inaugural legal research awards. * PhD: Brad Jessup (ANU). * ECR article/chapter:  Fady Aoun (Uni Sydney). * General category article/chapter: Michael Legg (UNSW).  * Book: Katherine Biber (UTS). * Desmond Manderson (ANU). *Non-traditional output:  Michael Grewcock and Vicki Sentas (UNSW), Stella Tarrant (UWA).  * Lifetime achievement: Stephen Bottomley (ANU)

The Monash U VC’s excellence awards were in CMM, Monday.

The Australian Naval Institute award its McNeil Prize to Jason Scholz. Professor Scholz (RMIT) is CEO of the Trusted Autonomous Systems CRC.

The university members of the 2020 Superstars of STEM were in Thursday’s CMM,  here.

Peter Varghese has a second five-year term as Uni Queensland chancellor, commencing in July.