Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Annette Erlangsen (ANU) is elected general secretary of the International Association for Suicide Prevention. Jo Robinson (Orygen and Uni Melbourne) becomes second VP.

 Of the week

The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia announces the four winners of the Paul Bourke Award for early career researchers, Kari Lancaster (UNSW), evidence-based policy on drugs and infectious disease. Sarah Walker (UNSW); development economist. Dylan Lino (Uni Queensland) Indigenous constitutional recognition. Michelle Tye (Black Dog Institute) suicide prevention.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science announces 2020 Fellows, including Australia-based researchers, Rachel Ankeny (Uni Adelaide), Suresh K. Bhargava (RMIT), TJ Higgins (CSIRO) and Toby Walsh (UNSW/CSIRO).

Andrej Atrens (Uni Queensland) receives the lifetime achievement award at the International Conference on Magnesium.

The Australian Academy of the Humanities 2020 fellows are here.

The Australian Space Awards are here.

Ceri Brenner joins ANSTO, to lead the Centre for Accelerator Science. She moves from the UK Central Laser Facility.

Liz Burd will join Griffith U in February as DVC E. She will move from PVC Learning and Teaching at Uni Newcastle.

The Council of Pharmacy Schools of ANZ has new office bearers, Debra Rowett (Uni SA) is president, Andrew McLachlan is VP and Mark Naunton (Uni Canberra) is treasure

Katie Ellis (Centre for Culture and Technology) wins the Curtin U research award for business, community, society service. She also wins the university’s John de Later Award for research leadership.

Come April Terry Flew will leave QUT to become professor of digital communication at Uni Sydney.

Lesley Head (Uni Melbourne) is elected president of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.

Doug Hilton from WEHI (formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall Institute) is named Melbournian of the year.

In January Patrick Keyzer becomes dean of law at Australian Catholic University. He moves from La Trobe U.

Mark Hutchinson Uni Adelaide) is named Science and Technology Australia’s president-elect, to take over next November. Other new members of STA’s executive are, Jas Chambers (Bureau of Meteorology as secretary, Sharath Sriram (RMIT) and Chloe Taylor (Western Sydney U).

The UNSW VC’s teaching awards are here.

At Uni QueenslandKaren Moritz will move in January from Director of the Child Health Research Centre to Associate Dean R of the medicine faculty. She will replace Elizabeth Eakin who has already switched to head of the university’s School of Public Health.

Victoria U VC’s awards are here.

The Victorian Endowment for Science, Knowledge and Innovation 2020 awards are here.