Appointments, achievements

The American Association for the Advancement of Science announces 2020 Fellows, including Australia-based researchers, Rachel Ankeny (Uni Adelaide), Suresh K. Bhargava (RMIT), TJ Higgins (CSIRO) and Toby Walsh (UNSW/CSIRO).

The Council of Pharmacy Schools of ANZ has new office bearers, Debra Rowett (Uni SA) is president, Andrew McLachlan is VP and Mark Naunton (Uni Canberra) is treasurer.

At Uni Queensland, Karen Moritz will move in January from Director of the Child Health Research Centre to Associate Dean R of the medicine faculty. She will replace Elizabeth Eakin who has already switched to head of the university’s School of Public Health.

The Victorian Endowment for Science, Knowledge and Innovation announces its 2020 awards. Life sciences, Kay Crossley (La Trobe U). Physical sciences, Yi-Min (Mike) Xie (RMIT). Life Sciences fellows, Jody Gerts (Bee Scientifics), Caitlin Jenvey (La Trobe U). Denver Linklater (RMIT). Jennifer Perret (Uni Melbourne). Priscilla Prestes (Federation U). Julia Walker (Monash U). Physical Sciences fellows. Taimur Ahmed (RMIT), Andreas Boes (RMIT). Fatemeh Jalali (IBM), Conrad Wasko (Uni Melbourne). Ali Yavari (Swinburne U). Maggie Zhai (RMIT).