Appointments, achievements

The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia announces the four winners of the Paul Bourke Award for early career researchers, Kari Lancaster (UNSW), evidence-based policy on drugs and infectious disease. Sarah Walker (UNSW); development economist. Dylan Lino (Uni Queensland)  Indigenous constitutional recognition. Michelle Tye (Black Dog Institute) suicide prevention.


The Australian Space Awards (as in outer not social distancing) are announced, including:

Academic institution of the year: Uni Sydney

Academic: Alan Duffy (Swinburne U)

Graduate: Steven Despotelli (Melbourne Space Programme)

Researcher: Joshua Chou (UTS)

Executive: Sarah Pearce (CSIRO)

Innovator: Matthew Tetlow (Inovor Technologies, “turnkey small satellite solutions)


Katie Ellis (Centre for Culture and Technology) wins the Curtin U research award for business, community, society service. She also wins the university’s John de Later Award for research leadership.

Come April Terry Flew will leave QUT to become professor of digital communication at Uni Sydney.