Appointments, achievements

The Australian Information Security Association announces its 2020 awards.

Cyber security educator: Box Hill TAFE

Student of the year: Emily Pendlebury (La Trobe U)

Researcher of the year: Matthew Warren (RMIT)

STEM promotion of the year: Charles Sturt U’s “Girls in cyber security advancing” (sic)

Helen Lochhead is UNSW’s new PVC Precincts, which are where the university wants to co-locate university, industry and government organisations. Precincts include Randwick health and education (adjacent to UNSW Kensington), Canberra City and the Western Sydney Aerotropolis. Professor Lochhead moves from dean, built environment.

 Tim Marchant is the incoming director of the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute. He moves from Research Dean at uni Wollongong.  Asha Rao (RMIT) was appointed interim director in August following Tim Brown’s announcing he would stand down (CMM August 21)