Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 The Australian Institute of International Affairs announces its 2020 Fellows:

 Nick Bisley (La Trobe U), Caitlin Byrne (Griffith U), Peter Grey (Corrs, Chambers, Westgarth) Miles Kupa (ex DFAT), William Maley (ANU), Tessa Morris-Suzuki (ANU)Ryan Davis (Kolling Institute) is president elect of the Australian Society for Medical Research.

 Henry-James Meiring (Uni Queensland) wins the Annals of Science 2019 best paper prize, for “Thomas Robert Malthus, naturalist of the mind.”

Of the week

 The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia announces its 2020 Fellows, here (CMM November 11).

 The Australian Business Deans Council inaugural award winners are at CMM November 9).

The Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association announces the 2020 Sidney Sax Medal for development/improvement of healthcare. Joint winners are the ANU’s Bushfire Impact Working Group and Patricia Turner, from the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation.

Engagement Australia announces the shortlist for its community service awards (CMM November 11)here. EA took on the awards programme from the now closed Business Higher Education Round Table.

Bronwyn Fox (Swinburne U) receives the Royal Society of Victoria’s Medal for Excellence in Scientific Research.

Thomas King leaves Griffith U, where he is deputy chief digital officer. He moves to Microsoft to be industry executive for HE.

Peter Lay (Uni Sydney) is awarded ANSTO’s Australian Synchrotron Lifetime Contribution Award). The early career researcher award goes to Wei Kong Pang from Uni Wollongong.

Helen Milroy (UWA) and Gordon Parker (UNSW) are joint winners of the Australian Mental Health Prize for 2020.

Minister Tehan’s expert panel on research translation is; Jeff Connolly (Siemens), Alan Finkel (outgoing Chief Scientist), Dig Howitt (Cochlear), Andrew Stevens (Innovation and Science Australia), Michelle Simmons (UNSW), Deborah Terry (Uni Queensland), Paul Wellings (outgoing Uni Wollongong) and Shemara Wikramanayake (Macquarie Group).

Stuart Parsons (QUT) is the new president of the Australian Council of Environmental Deans.

Stacey Reinke (Edith Cowan U) wins the Metabolomics Society’s President’s Medal (for early career researchers).  The discipline studies, “small molecule metabolites in biological systems”.

Brendan Rodoni (Ag BioCentre) wins the inaugural Kim Ritman award for Science and Innovation (for biosecurity research).

The Tasmanian Government announces its STEM awards here (CMM November 10)

John Wardle Architects is a winner in the education category of the National Architecture Awards for Uni Melbourne’s Ian Potter Southbank Centre. So is Lyons, with Silver Thomas Hanley, for Curtin U’s Midland campus project.