Appointments, achievements

ABC TV’s Catalyst wins the American Institute of Physics broadcast and new media award for Tamara Davis’s (Uni Queensland) programme on black holes, screened in February.

Nelson Tansu is the new head of Uni Adelaide’s School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering. He joins from Lehigh U in Pennsylvania.

The 2020 edX prize for on-line teaching and learning has a short-list. The team that created Curtin U’s micromasters on the Internet of Things is one of the global ten.  Members are, Iain Murray, Nazanin Mohammadi, Cesar Ortega-Sanchez, Johannes Herrmann and Valerie Maxville.

Melissa de Zwart (Uni Adelaide) is elected chair of the Council of Australian Law Deans.