Appointments, achievements

The Forrest Research Foundation (as in Andrew and Nicola) announce Prospect Fellowships for Curtin U staff, Michael David Wilson (fatigue and wellbeing in safety-critical workplaces) and Georgia Hay (psychology of interdisciplinary healthcare teams).

 The International Water Association announces its 2020 fellows including; Distinguished Fellows: Jurg Keller (Uni Queensland), Saravanamuthu Vigneswaran (UTS). Kathryn Silvester (Sydney Water) becomes a Fellow.

Shitij Kapur is named president of King’s College London. Professor Kapur is now dean of medicine at Uni Melbourne.


The NSW Premier’s prizes for Science and Engineering are announced.

Uni Sydney virologist Edward Holmes is the NSW Scientist of the Year.

Merlin Crossley (UNSW) is joint winner of the medical-biological science award.

Rachael Gallagher (Macquarie U) wins the ECR category for biological sciences.

Ewa Goldys (UNSW) wins the innovation award for research, on fluorescence (colour analysis of cells).

Zaiping Guo (Uni Wollongong) is joint winner of the engineering/ICT category.

David Hopkins (NSW Department of Primary Industries) takes the public sector prize.

Jelena Rnjak-Kovacina (UNSW) is the ECR winner for physical sciences.

Sue O’Reilly (Macquarie U) takes the award for in the maths, earth sciences chemistry, physics category.

Antoine van Oijen (Uni Wollongong) shares the medical-biology honour.

Sophie Poisel (Emanuel School) wins the STEM teaching award.

Ian Wright (Macquarie U) wins the biology category.


The US based Optical Society also announces new fellows, for 2021. Australia based researchers are, Igor Aharonovich UTS), Baohua Jia (Swinburne U), Ilya Shadrivov (ANU),