Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 John Hattie receives the inaugural Uni Melbourne Marles Medal in HASS. The medal “recognises excellence in research impact.” Professor Hattie is based in the university’s Graduate School of Education.

 Mary-Anne Williams takes up the Michael Crouch chair in innovation at UNSW. She moves from UTS where she is director of the innovation lab.

Griffith U announces VC awards for professional staff

Client partnership:  Catherine Turner (Law School), Nadine Painter (Australian Rivers Institute)

Enhancing teaching: Kamaljeet Kaur Assan (Education and Professional Studies)

Innovation: Giuseppe Poli, Kara Roffey, Stephanie Beland, Bec L’Estrange, Damien Brinin, Jessica Bravo, Tegan Valentine, Shrinik Pattan, Claire Sinsua, Lyn Koo, Tim Lane, Tony Neaton, Susan Schwabb, Katrina Moore, Mark Wright (Virtual Telehealth Implementation Team)

Equity, diversity, inclusion: Susanne Osborne (office of PVC Indigenous)

Community engagement: Holly Ruhle, Erin Copeland (Sports Events Team)

Student experience: Deanna Yourrell, Lucas McBurney, Michelle Wano and Luke Austin (Digital Solutions)

Leadership: David Camp (Environment and Science)

Enhancing research: Michael Batzloff (Institute for Glycomics)

Of the week

 Elizabeth Bardwell joins Swinburne U as comms director. She moves from comms consultancy Allegro.

James Brown becomes CEO of the Space Industry Association. Mr Brown is a former army officer who, works at “nexus of public policy, national security, academia, and industry.” He says he is, “passionate about leadership and public service and enjoy working with teams to solve complex problems with multiple stakeholders.”

Romola Bucks is incoming director of the Raine Study (formerly known as the WA Pregnancy Cohort Study). She moves from deputy dean of UWA’s science faculty.

Alisa Glukhova (Walter and Elia Hall) and Si Ming Man (ANU) win CSL Centenary Fellowships. Dr Glukhova researches cell communications to treat cancer.  Professor Man works on disease-fighting proteins. They each have $1.25m over five years.

Carol Grech (UniSA) becomes a life member of the Australian College of Critical Care Nurses.

 The International Education Association of Australia announces new board appointments; Janelle Chapman (TAFE Queensland) – president. Simon Ridings (Edith Cowan U) – VP. Mike Ferguson (Uni Canberra) – board member.  Sarah Todd (Griffith U) – board member. Ren Yi (Uni Southern Queensland) – board member.

Shirin Malekpour (Monash U) is appointed to the drafting panel for the UN 2023 Global Sustainable Development Report.

Kate Power is inaugural artist in residence at Flinders U’s Assemblage Centre for Creative Arts, (“trans-disciplinary creative work”).

The 2020 Ramaciotti Medal for Biomedical Research goes to Andrew Roberts and John Seymour for their work on a drug for lymphocytic leukaemia. Both work at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Uni Melbourne. Roberts also researches at Walter and Eliza Hall.

The Royal Australian Chemical Institute’s 2020 medallists are here.

Karen Sutherland (Uni Sunshine Coast) is social media educator of the year in 2020 Social Media Marketing Awards. She was runner-up last year.

Erica Tong (Alfred Health and Monash U) receives the Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award for 2020.

The UK Academy of Social Sciences announces new fellows including ANZ based; Claire Annesley (UNSW), Anthony Elliott (Uni SA), Rob White (Uni Tas).

Grace Yee (Creative Fellow, State Library of Victoria) win the University of Melbourne’s Peter Steele poetry award.