Appointments, achievements

James Brown becomes CEO of the Space Industry Association. Mr Brown is a former army officer who, works at “nexus of public policy, national security, academia, and industry.” He says he is, “passionate about leadership and public service and enjoy working with teams to solve complex problems with multiple stakeholders.”

Alisa Glukhova (Walter and Elia Hall) and Si Ming Man (ANU) win CSL Centenary Fellowships. Dr Glukhova researches cell communications to treat cancer.  Professor Man works on disease-fighting proteins. They each have $1.25m over five years.

 The International Education Association of Australia announces new board appointments; Janelle Chapman (TAFE Queensland) – president. Simon Ridings (Edith Cowan U) – VP. Mike Ferguson (Uni Canberra) – board member.  Sarah Todd (Griffith U) – board member. Ren Yi (Uni Southern Queensland) – board member.

The UK Academy of Social Sciences announces new fellows including ANZ based;

Claire Annesley (UNSW), Anthony Elliott (Uni SA), Rob White (Uni Tas).

 The Royal Australian Chemical Institute names its 2020 medallists;

Applied Research Award: Mike Kassiou (Uni Sydney)

Cornforth Award: Vincent Eddie Zwicker (Uni Sydney)

Distinguished Fellowships: Mary Fletcher (Uni Queensland), Gary Golding (QUT), Jennifer Sharwood

Chemical Education: Richard John (Griffith U)

HG Smith Memorial Award: Paul Low (UWA)

Leighton Memorial Award: Paul Haddad (U Tas)

Margaret Sheil Leadership Award: Danielle Skropeta (Uni Wollongong)

Masson Memorial Award: Laura Wait (Uni Queensland)

RACI Chemistry Educator: Madeleine Schultz (Deakin U)

Rita Cornforth Lectureship: Lauren Macreadie (Uni Sydney)

Rennie Memorial Award: Lars Goerigk (Uni Melbourne), Nicholas White (ANU)

LeFevre Memorial Award: Ivan Kassal (Uni Sydney)