Appointments, achievements

The ANU’s Rose Ahlefeldt is the ACT scientist of the year. Dr Ahlefeldt researches materials to achieve the data storage quantum computers will need.

Trevor McDougall from UNSW is a new fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

Macquarie U PVC (programmes and pathways) Sean Brawley is named a principal fellow of the teaching achievement organisation formerly known as the Higher Education Academy.

SA Science Award winners, announced Friday night are; Scientist of the year; Richard Hillis, UniAdelaide. Tertiary educator of the year; Justin Chalker, Flinders USchool teacher of the year; Sue O’Malley, Trinity College Senior. Science Comms; Liz Reed, UniAdelaide. Tall Poppy; Benjamin Sparkes, UniAdelaide. STEM professional; Zbigniew Michalewicz, UniAdelaide. Unsung hero: Jan Bell, UniAdelaide.  PhD research: Katharina Richter, UniAdelaide. Research collaboration: Aboriginal Heritage Project, SA Museum, UniAdelaide.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education