Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Mark Green (Uni Melbourne) is announced the Society of Reproductive Biology’s 2020 Fellow.

Moira O’Bryan is appointed dean of science at Uni Melbourne. She moves from Monash U.

Of the week

John Anderson (Uni Newcastle) is appointed academic member of the NSW Sentencing Council

ANU’s chancellor Julie Bishop is one of four new Fisher Family Fellows at Harvard University. Fellows, “train the next generation of diplomatic leaders,” with (virtual) seminars, research and by mentoring. Ms Bishop joins Palestine Liberation Organisation official Saeb ErakatFederica Mogherini from the EU and German diplomat Peter Wittig. Ms Bishop was foreign affairs minister 2013-18.

Tim Boyle (ANSTO) becomes chair of ATTP, “the global alliance of national peak professional bodies for commercialisation, industry engagement and entrepreneurship.”

Mia Christensen (QUT) receives the university’s Jean Ferguson Memorial Award for early childhood education.

Laura K Davey joins ANU as a research fellow in the Crawford School of Public Policy. She moves from the Public Service Research Group at UNSW.

Carol McGregor wins the 2020 John Mulvaney Fellowship from the Australian Academy of the Humanities. The Fellowship is for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander early career researchers and PhD students in the humanities. Dr McGregor, “revives the traditional possum skin cloak as a contemporary art form.”

Meredith Makeham joins Uni Sydney as Associate Dean (Community and Primary Healthcare Practice in the Faculty of Medicine and Health.

Julien O’Connell becomes acting chancellor of Australian Catholic U following the death on Saturday of long-serving chancellor John Fahey.

Hugh Possingham (Uni Queensland) becomes Chief Scientist of Queensland

Sally Young (Uni Melbourne) is awarded James Cook U’s Colin Roderick Literary Award for 2020. Professor Young wins for Paper Emperors: The Rise of Australia’s Newspaper Empires (New South Publishing).